Recipes

Chef Calley's grown-up apple butter
Sat, November 19
Chef Calley's local tomato soup
Wed, November 9
Chef Calley’s acorn squash quinoa burger
Fri, October 21
Chef Calley: Homemade Caesar dressing is the best
Fri, October 14
Chef Calley's secret to good soup
Thu, December 29
Prosciutto flatbread made with apples and cider
Fri, October 14
Localvore recipe: Gluten free pelmeni
Fri, September 30
Old apples, old memories, old-fashioned apple crisp
Sun, September 25
Chef Calley's chicken tortilla soup
Sun, September 25
Local chefs on how to make cabbage awesome
Fri, September 9
Your new go-to muffin recipe
Fri, September 9
An end-of-summer dessert for a crowd
Fri, September 2
Chef Calley's smoked cheddar soup
Fri, September 2
Localvore: Try ratatouille on the grill
Fri, September 2
‘Farmers market philanthropist’ Alice Waters visits...
Fri, April 4
Farmhouse Group names new chefs for two restaurants
Thu, March 20
Farmhouse Group set to open fifth Burlington restaurant in...
Wed, March 5
You can pickle that: Canning made easier
Fri, September 5
Pumpkin and pasta in one homemade dish
Fri, October 10
A recipe from a kitchen that loves duck
Fri, October 24
A recipe for the last of the season tomatoes
Fri, October 3
Localvore: Delicious (maybe dowdy) eggplant sauce
Sun, September 21
Have too many tomatoes? Make a pie
Thu, September 11
Recipe: Autumnal onion soup with cider
Thu, September 18
Localvore: Crisp frybread tacos
Sun, August 31
Local Flavor: Homemade corn dogs
Fri, August 29
Local Flavor: Summer squash soup
Fri, August 22
Pesto harnesses underused arugula
Fri, August 15
Local Flavor: Homemade raviolo has sauce inside
Fri, August 8
Localvore: Tangy summer chicken
Fri, August 1
Recipe: A true summer risotto with corn, lobster
Fri, August 1
Localvore: 'Tis the season for caponata
Sun, July 27
Localvore: Add tarragon to change up roast chicken
Sun, June 29
Chef Calley's favorite chicken Marsala
Fri, June 27
Forget Twinkies, these teens make their own butter
Thu, October 30
Pumpkin recipe that won't make you plump up
Fri, October 31
Recipe: Arugula and shrimp stuffed sole
Fri, November 7
Chef musings on black bean soup
Fri, November 7
Pumpkin pie reconfigured as Thanksgiving cannoli
Fri, November 14
Recipe: orange and balsamic glazed chicken
Fri, November 14
Forget faux meat, turn to eggplant
Thu, November 13
A savory garlic gratin for Thanksgiving
Fri, November 21
Chef Calley's homemade cornbread stuffing
Tue, November 25
'Simplify, simplify' with holiday granola
Tue, November 25
A candy cane cocktail for a festive season
Thu, December 4
Local recipe: Braised lamb and barley soup
Thu, December 4
Localvore recipe: Vietnam-inspired, Vermont veggies
Sat, December 6
So bring us some figgy biegnets
Fri, December 12
Local beer makes good cheddar ale soup
Thu, December 18
From field to table: A hunter's most satisfying meal
Thu, December 18
Iffy on Brussels sprouts? Add maple and bacon
Wed, December 24
A chef is a good friend to have on Christmas Eve
Fri, January 2
Recipe: Lobster Benedict with local eggs
Thu, January 8
Local sweet potatoes make even sweeter muffins
Wed, January 14
Chef Calley dresses up fish with pretzels
Thu, January 15
Inspiration from a mayonnaise commercial
Thu, January 15
Chef Calley's roasted tomato cheddar soup
Thu, January 22
Vermonters weigh in on their favorite soups
Fri, January 23
Get local, get chocolate, get happy
Sun, January 25
Homemade ice cream licks the competition, year-round
Tue, January 27
10 easy ways to jazz up Oscar party offerings
Thu, February 5
Get your hands dirty with homemade parsnip gnocchi
Fri, February 6
Local recipe: Ale-braised lamb shank
Sun, February 8
Chef Shawn Calley's maple crème brûlée
Thu, February 19
No looking back from Lake Champlain chowder
Sat, February 21
As awesome as it sounds: Imploding honey custard cake
Tue, February 24
Courtney Contos and her delish Dutch baby
Thu, February 26
Chicken andouille gumbo from Cider House BBQ
Thu, February 26
Winter memories and Chef Phoebe's mussels
Fri, February 27
Goodbye wimpy salad, hello kale and lentils
Thu, February 26
Chicken stew and a poem by American Flatbread founder
Thu, February 26
Vermont chefs share favorite winter meals
Fri, February 27
Chef Shawn Calley's apple latkes
Fri, March 13
Classic Easter cake remade as waffles
Thu, March 12
Chef Shawn Calley's onion popovers
Thu, March 19
Like an Easter basket, but with real eggs and bacon
Thu, March 19
Gluten-free life, with cupcakes and pizza
Thu, March 19
Recipe: Gluten-free cookies from Against the Grain
Thu, March 19
Cookbooks reveal a century of maple recipes
Sat, March 21
Tips for even better grilled cheese
Thu, March 26
What's a morning person doing in the restaurant biz?
Thu, March 26
Chef Calley: It's never too early to grill
Thu, March 26
Classic carbonara with a Vermont twist
Thu, April 9
Celery root: Not pretty, but pretty tasty in slaw
Thu, April 9
Chef Calley's lobster deviled eggs
Thu, April 16
A chef and host's 10 dinner party tips
Fri, April 17
Local recipe: Cranberry curd
Wed, April 22
Snapper on the grill, with a nice spring salad
Thu, April 23
A ramp risotto to welcome foraging season
Wed, April 29
Revolution is fermenting at Rhapsody Natural Foods
Fri, May 8
Chef Calley's grilled ramp and calamari bruschetta
Thu, May 14
Recipe: A light and refreshing crab salad
Fri, May 29
Well-tested strawberry shortcakes
Fri, May 29
Many ways to to enjoy rhubarb
Sat, June 6
Chef Calley's morning treat, cinnamon rolls
Thu, June 11
Ditch the dogs for bratwurst with apple and cheddar
Thu, June 18
Cheers to summer with homemade berry popsicles
Tue, June 23
Chef Calley's bacon mac and cheese
Thu, June 25
Can strawberry-rhubarb pie be improved?
Thu, June 25
Put some kale in your crab cakes
Thu, July 2
Localvore cake recipe to please a crowd
Thu, July 2
Uncle Clarence's easy cucumber salad recipe
Fri, July 10
Recipe: Parenting, pride and blueberry grunt
Wed, July 15
Chef Calley's club sandwich recipe
Wed, July 15
O is for oxymoron: A localvore avocado soup
Thu, July 23
Saucy steamed clams at home
Fri, July 24
Refreshing local melon granitas
Wed, July 29
Chef Calley's watermelon and basil gazpacho
Thu, July 30
Chef Calley’s honey roasted chicken
Thu, August 6
Turn up the grill for this homemade salsa
Thu, August 13
Beautiful Vermont tomatoes in caprese salad
Fri, July 25
Chef Calley’s green curry scallop ceviche
Thu, August 20
72 varieties of tomato, three in your salad
Fri, August 28
Salad and fish for a great summer dish
Fri, August 28
Chef Calley’s soup made on a grill
Thu, September 3
Sign of success: Kohlrabi fritters from afar
Fri, September 4
How to make a classic lamb loin dish
Thu, September 10
When life gives you tomatoes, make jam
Fri, September 11
Broccoli pie: A hunt for the source
Mon, September 21
Chef Calley's salsa verde with garden tomatillos
Fri, September 25
Pick-your-own potatoes a 30 year tradition
Fri, October 9
Calley's crab cakes
Fri, October 9
Artichoke dip from chef Calley
Fri, October 16
Fudge take two: 40 years later
Sun, December 6
Clam dip from chef Calley
Fri, January 8
Vermont Country Store peddles nostalgia, new cookbook
Thu, January 14
Valentine's Day cheesecake
Sun, February 14
Shawn Calley: Flourless chocolate cake
Thu, March 3
Pair of new tortillerias makes fresh tortillas
Fri, March 4
Maple isn’t just for pancakes anymore
Sun, March 20
Chef Calley's Chicken Saltimbocca recipe
Thu, March 24
Spaghetti alla Carbonara alla Vermont
Tue, March 22
Recipe: Lamb stew with apricots, ginger and cinnamon
Tue, April 5
Rabbit and peas for a spring feast
Tue, April 5
Potato leek soup fit for a diplomat
Wed, April 6
An old white cake recipe adapted for localvores
Wed, April 20
A recipe ready for local spring vegetables
Thu, April 28
Local Flavor recipe: White bean hummus
Thu, April 28
Localvore recipe: Chard stems with cheese sauce
Thu, May 5
Recipe: Chef Calley's spicy crab bisque
Thu, May 5
Localvore recipe: Gluten-free ramp pierogies
Thu, May 12
Recipe: Finnish rhubarb-strawberry whipped cream cake
Thu, May 19
Recipe: Parsley and garlic-marinated flap steak
Fri, May 27
Local Flavor recipe: Basil strawberry shortcake
Fri, May 27
Who knew? Savory rhubarb recipes
Thu, June 2
Recipe: Roasted beets with local honey and blue cheese
Thu, June 2
Local recipe: Corn fritters
Fri, June 10
Quick pickles to save fading veggies
Fri, June 24
Kids love Chef Calley's ricotta gnocchi
Fri, June 24
Kick up grilled steak with chimichurri
Thu, June 30
Recipe: Pea shoots and pork stir fry
Thu, June 30
Fri, July 8
Three recipes for summer entertaining
Sat, July 23
For surf and turf: Calley's crab cakes
Fri, July 29
Celebrating – and mourning – peach season in Vermont
Fri, August 5
Chef Calley's spicy black bean hummus
Fri, August 5
Chef Calley's bacon mac and cheese
Thu, August 11
Recipe: Roasted jalapeno salsa
Thu, August 25
Recipe: Calley's creamy polenta with grilled chicken
Thu, August 25
Homemade local berry 'pop-tarts'
Fri, September 2
Weeknight dinner: From scratch chicken Parmesan
Sat, November 19
No-Knead Crusty White Bread
Thu, December 11
Gingerbread Cookies
Thu, December 11
Pizza Crust
Thu, December 11
Holiday Butter Cookies
Thu, December 11
Beautiful Burger Buns
Thu, December 11
Cinnamon-Streusel Coffeecake
Thu, December 11
Bread Machine Bread - Easy As Can Be
Thu, December 11
Fudge Brownies
Thu, December 11
Easy Self-Rising Biscuits
Thu, December 11
Easy Cheesecake
Thu, December 11
Flourless Chocolate Cake
Thu, December 11
Shortbread
Thu, December 11
Almond Cloud Cookies
Thu, December 11
Simple Cookie Glaze
Thu, December 11
Cranberry Orange Rolls
Thu, December 11
Overnight Panettone
Thu, December 11
Flaky Cheese Twists
Thu, December 11
Hot Popper Dip
Thu, December 11
Flourless Fudge Cookies
Thu, December 11
Classic 100% Whole Wheat Bread
Thu, December 11
Rustic Sourdough Bread
Thu, December 11